Advice on starting an agency

Lauralynn

I have an opportunity to start up my own agency. It has been a dream of mine since i graduated college in 2013. I have been working for other agents since 2016 and I am on maternity leave currently with the agency that I am working for now. Life has changed and when i go back i will be working for only commissions where as before i was working on salary and commissions. The way i have thought about it if I am going to work for commissions why not work for myself.

I am young I am 33 years old. I know and understand insurance and I love it. I even have had clients currently tell me i should open up on my own agency. They would rather deal with me. (no I don't have non compete clause with the agency i work for now). I don't know nothing about running an agency but I am willing to learn.

I am looking at two companies Farmers and American National Insurance. Neither are in the area I am in. It might be something different. This are is very saturated with Farm Bureau and State Farm and independent agents.

I'm not gonna lie I am nervous and scared. I don't want to fail.

For those that started their own agency what made you decided to do it? Was it a rough start? Any and all advice on doing this.

Let me start with asking you a quick question:

What kinds of agencies have you been with thus far? Are you with independent agencies or with a big name brand agency?

Both have their place, but the ability to sell a name-brand policy is different than for an independent agency.

Now, while I do not have P&C sales experience, I know enough to be dangerous. Selling policies for big name-brand companies... is more about the buyer than it is about the company.