Annuity Summer Slump?

Jack12345

Expert
Is there a normal decline in production during the summer months? Our lead flow on marketing has been very slow the past 6 weeks and I'm wondering if this is due to issues with the marketing, or if this is seasonal? I am relatively new in the annuity world partnered with an older advisor who suggests this is normal and happens more or less every year, but I have my reservations about this...

What type of marketing are you doing?

I don't know the actual answer, but Im assuming its because its summer and people are on vacations, at their beach house, busy with other things and dont want to talk about annuties right now. Just my opinion.

Is there a normal decline in production during the summer months? Our lead flow on marketing has been very slow the past 6 weeks and I'm wondering if this is due to issues with the marketing, or if this is seasonal? I am relatively new in the annuity world partnered with an older advisor who suggests this is normal and happens more or less every year, but I have my reservations about this...

I believe in a few weeks, you will see LIMRAs quarterly report stating a record number of Annuities were sold so far YTD in 2023 compared to any other year in recorded history.....................................sooooooooo, definitely not a slump, cant have record purchases without consumers on the other end of the transaction

Here is the most recent LIMRA report from 2 months ago showing a record quarter, far surpassing even the record sales of 2022: LIMRA: Another Record-Breaking Quarter for U.S. Annuity Sales

I believe in a few weeks, you will see LIMRAs quarterly report stating a record number of Annuities were sold so far YTD in 2023 compared to any other year in recorded history

Generally also expect an overall decrease in sales during the summer for the reasons ValeRosso noted.
However, a quick review of LIMRA reports on annuity sales indicates they can remain robust in both Q2 and Q3.