• Do you have any victories you'd like to share for the month of May? Help us celebrate others by posting here.

Any Auto Agents from a No-Fault State Care to Share???

I'm a Independent Agent (P&C) in Georgia. I had only heard the term "No-Fault" Auto Insurance and knew nothing about it until about six months ago. I met a new customer who had just moved to Georgia from Michigan, which is a "No-Fault State". As I explained how auto insurance works under Georgia law, it became increasingly obvious that she was very confused!

I provided her with much higher coverage limits and lower deductibles and still saved her $120/year compared to what she was paying in Michigan. I asked her to give me a few days to do some research and I would call her. I read every legitimate resource I could find on the subject of No-Fault and Michigan Insurance Law over the next few days and nights. I represent six different Personal Lines carriers, but one of them makes up 80+% of my business and they happen to be based in Lansing, Michigan. So I spent two hours on the phone with a Senior Underwriter learning all about the concept of No-Fault and how it is applied in Michigan, etc.

I called my new customer back to explain the differences between Michigan No-fault and Georgia 'Fault' (or would it be 'At Fault') systems of coverage. She was nearby, so she stopped by my office instead of trying to discuss and understand it over the phone. When I finished explaining it all, she asked why everyone (including Michigan) didn't operate the way we do in Georgia. She even made the comment that she had never known any system but No-Fault until then, but suddenly it seemed totally illogical to her...