Brand new & seeking guidance

LilSammy

I’m a newly licensed health agent in Florida looking to start with aca as well as flat out paid plans. I generated leads and basically wrote plans on Licensed for a Florida blue agency here in my state. I never realized there would be so much to this and I’m wondering if my original plan of going directly with the carriers is to ambitious for someone as it was me . Can someone give a little guidance on the fmo route please? Who has the best support system & does not try to own my book of business etc? Thank you all in advance.

Just make sure you interview them and see if they offer the things you feel you need to succeed. Carrier contract availability, bonus opportunities, technology platforms, CRM, etc. Ask how they pay commissions and who the AOR is on the policies you write. Everyone has different needs so don't be afraid to ask a lot of questions.

If they act annoyed or that you aren't worth the time to answer questions, probably not a good fit. I would also ask what their release policy is. If you aren't happy with them, it should be easy to leave.

I'm a rep for an FMO (not in FL) and the majority of our brokers come to us because their old FMO abandons them.

Just make sure you interview them and see if they offer the things you feel you need to succeed. Carrier contract availability, bonus opportunities, technology platforms, CRM, etc. Ask how they pay commissions and who the AOR is on the policies you write. Everyone has different needs so don't be afraid to ask a lot of questions.

If they act annoyed or that you aren't worth the time to answer questions, probably not a good fit. I would also ask what their release policy is. If you aren't happy with them, it should be easy to leave.

I'm a rep for an FMO (not in FL) and the majority of our brokers come to us because their old FMO abandons them.