Getting That Initial Appointment With A Prospect...

updated with google docs link

Lately, I have been struggling to get that first appointment with my leads. Now that my natural market is running thin I have been working for a few months trying to get business through various types of telemarketing (about 1500 dials a week) and door to door (about 35-45 per day). I am getting plenty of people who want to get quotes (25-30 per week) but only one or two people per week who are willing to meet in person. Ideally I would like at least two or three people per DAY!

I have several different approaches and none have worked very successfully. The most frustrating thing is that once I can get in front of someone I can get the sale a good chunk of the time since I can offer some of the best auto and home rates in the city. Its selling that first appointment that I struggle with.

So, I sat down over the weekend, decided to stop trying to wing it, read through some sales and prospecting books and this forum and wrote down any ideas I thought would be valuable.

I then wrote out a call process that should help me out. I don't want to C&P the whole thing here since its about two pages double spaced so here is a google docs link: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B2N6zoKhhGn-bmFGRUtfREZxVEk

Any comments positive, negative or in between are greatly appreciated. And any other tips or tricks you can give will be welcomed with open arms. I am getting tired of people just asking me for the quote over the phone and then me never hearing from them again...

Also, I am primarily selling personal lines P&C (90%) with some life (10%). And if anyone is willing to role play this with me I would love some live constructive criticism!

Last edited:
Sounds like you are doing a great job prospecting between calls and canvasing.