Newbie here and to Insurance Sales

Hi All,

I am new to Insurance Sales but have a long history in insurance including billing and administering benefits for large companies. When I say "new", I just passed my Life and Health exam yesterday so I don't even have my license yet but it's in the works. Now that the exam is over, I can focus on how I get started. I "think" I'd like to focus on Medicare products because I have a heart for the elderly and always look for ways to help them.

My husband is also an agent but focuses primarily on Property & Casualty. I will likely get that license also and assist him when he needs it.

So my biggest dilemma now, like many, is to figure out the mechanism to get contracted and the platform to support my business. I am not interested in being tied to one insurance company. Is that what I see people calling "captured?" Any suggestions are welcome and I will do my due diligence to find the best fit for me.

God bless and have a great day!

The term is actually "captive". Your word "captured" made me laugh because it's actually kinda the same thing. No worries, you're new, you'll get all the lingo down eventually.

I'm commercial p&c and can't help with much advice. The good news it there are a lot of other veterans on here that can be quite helpful.

Hi All,

I am new to Insurance Sales but have a long history in insurance including billing and administering benefits for large companies. When I say "new", I just passed my Life and Health exam yesterday so I don't even have my license yet but it's in the works. Now that the exam is over, I can focus on how I get started. I "think" I'd like to focus on Medicare products because I have a heart for the elderly and always look for ways to help them.

My husband is also an agent but focuses primarily on Property & Casualty. I will likely get that license also and assist him when he needs it.