Recommendations Cluster/Agency/Aggregators

Yashassu

Hi, I am new to the insurance industry(Licensed in L & H, P & C) and want to start a independent agency and I am looking for good agency/clusters/aggregators that provide help and training to get started with the process and kick start the agency. Training and/or guidance initially as i build my book of business is critical as well. Please share your recommendations.

Hey! Congrats on the new career path.

I am the business development manager for Horizon Agency Systems, we're based out of Colorado but we have agencies across the country.

My recommendation would be to look at several networks, and get a feel for each of them. Each set up is slightly different.

Don't fall for a network trying to strong arm you into signing now now now. Odds are they know that once you sign you are more less trapped.

A good network should encourage you to review multiple contracts and then decide what's best for you.

Here's a list of questions you should ask every network you speak to. Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

1. Do you have a good carrier mix across the lines of business I want to use in my agency?
  2. Are those carriers competitive in my region specifically?
  3. Do you have any production requirements?
  4. Do you provide an agency management system?
  5. Do you provide a comparative rater(s)?
  6. Do you have a non-compete or non-solicitation if I decide your network isn't for me? If so... why?
  7. Do I need an office or may I work from home?
  8. What if I am new to Insurance, is that ok in your network?
  9. Do you have any exit fees?
  10. Can I sell my agency at some point?
  11. If I sell my agency, do you take a cut?
  12. Will I quote, bind, and service my policyholders directly with the carrier on their sites, or submit through you.
  13. How long is my contract for, and do I get ownership right away, or over time?