Hot Sports Opinion on FMO's/IMO's

DFW

Expert
First, let me start with a fact and not an opinion...I am an experienced agent and FMO's bring absolutely no value to my business whatsoever. It is infuriating to me that I am not able to get directly contracted with carriers to get maximum payout. Why should some jackass get an override on my business? So here is the opinion...carriers should allow any agent with 10+ years experience the ability to contract directly and start at max comp.

If you are an FMO/IMO please don't respond with the value added garbage you bring to the table...product knowledge, marketing, leads, trips...that is all BS for the experienced and knowledgable agent. You are nothing more than a commission leech and I for one am sick of your hands in my pockets.

This forum provides more value than any FMO that I have ever worked with and I don't have to pay an override to do quick and simple research. Case in point... I usually write Allianz, American Equity or Great American. I was looking for something new last week and found the Libertymark/Legendmark products here on the forums. After doing a little more research, I called Legacy to get appointed and they referred me to two FMO's in my area. I ended up contracting with an FMO that I already had unnecessary relationship with. I just dropped a ticket for $300k and it chaps my ass that the FMO will get an override on that business.

FMO's are a complete waste of money for most experienced agents. One should be able to opt out of working with them and contract directly with the carrier to receive max comp rates on your business.

What are your thoughts?

Last edited:
I want direct with the carrier from $1. I don't want to shop a bunch of whores to see who will give me the best deal.

If we could have everything we want out of life I wouldn't be sitting on my ass in a wheelchair past 32 years. But since that's the way it is I make the best of it.