Newer to Insurance, Questions About Annuities

insuranceguy1357

Ohio
I got into selling Medicare products a few years ago because I was looking for a new challenge and of course wanted to earn extra income. It has been a real blast meeting with Seniors and helping them find a plan. I am a captive agent with UHC (I know some people love UHC captive on here and some hate it, but it works for me because I already have a job and I can work the leads that are sent to me).

Things do slow down during SEP and I would like to branch out. Some agents I know also sell life. I haven't yet met any that sell annuities. I was wondering if there were life insurance or annuities companies that have something similar to the UHC ICA program? If so, which route would be recommended? I am leaning towards life but I have heard some good things about annuities residuals.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Your post reminded me of this thread, so I'll just post this here:

http://www.insurance-forums.net/forum/annuities-forum/beginner-help-appreciated-t81685.html

Annuities have almost no renewal commissions. However, should the DOL ruling still go through (I think President Trump will strike it down), there will be more companies that will be offering reduced up front compensation and an ongoing renewal trail commission.

----------

Oh, and I have no idea what the UHC ICA program is, so I cannot make any comparisons.

Thank you very much. The UHC ICA program makes you a captive agent for Medicare Advantage (But not for Supplements). You receive free leads from United Healthcare. Upon a sale, you get an upfront commission and then receive monthly residuals for the life of the policy.

I actually got my start doing what you are doing ,getting in with Medicare and then moving over to other products. There is no easier way to get appointments then starting off helping them save money on their supplements. After I did the supplement I would as a simple question