Please Tell Me if this is a Good Deal

BocaLouis

Hi everybody I'm a newbie here but not new to insurance, a little background on me: I have being 215 licensed over 10 years and 2-20 almost 5 years, currently work as a producer. I want to start my own agency but do not have the necessary means at this time, so an agent approached me and made this proposal:
I will get a 1k monthly salary and a 75% commission on new business, and 20% on renewals, he will provide me with an office, leads, servicing will be done by he's 4-40 people, phone, computer, internet, etc. he currently have around 10 HO carriers and 10 auto carriers, it sounds good to me (and pretty much best choice out there) but the fact that I am only getting 20% on renewals discourages me a little, the potential that I see is that when get to be able to afford all the expenses on my own (everything mentioned above) the split will be 45 on renewals, what this guy is offering me is kind of a franchising deal as I will be by myself on the new location. I considered Bright way but they wanted a 60k initial and the split is 85 on new and 55 on renewals.
So please tell me what you think, your input will be appreciated;)

He's providing you with leads and servicing plus 75% FYC or first premium commission? If it's first year then I think it's a great deal.

Sounds like good deal. You are getting a salary and a high % on new business. If he is giving you leads I can tell you that he is taking a loss on you the first year.

Josh said:
He's providing you with leads and servicing plus 75% FYC or first premium commission? If it's first year then I think it's a great deal.

FYC which is good, and 20% renewals isn't that very low, renewals is why I want to become an agent.

He has to make his money back somewhere. Stop being greedy. You could easily make 60k your first year with that schedule and only go up from there.

FYC which is good, and 20% renewals isn't that very low, renewals is why I want to become an agent.