Cannot Find a Policy. Considering Self-insuring

artmt

I am starting a small auto wholesale business - selling used cars to other dealers. My licence and my dealer plates are from WA but I am doing business out of my home in MA. No lot, no garage.
WA does not require insurance on dealer plates but because I am a MA resident I must comply with general MA auto liability requirements.

All I need is auto liability for the dealer plates but I am having hard time finding a policy in either MA or WA. The agents I spoke with offered auto liability as an option for the garage policy, and insurance companies seem to be confused by the fact that I don't have a garage. The cross-state situation seems to be another confusing factor.
I am also now considering the self-insurance option via a bond or a cash deposit.

Any advise on finding a policy or a self-insurance bond will be much appreciated.

Do the math on what happens if you hit someone and they go after you for $300k because you were in an accident then factor in the cost of the attorney; I can't for the life of me imagine why anyone would want to self-insure. Whatever you do, get something.

Do the math on what happens if you hit someone and they go after you for $300k because you were in an accident then factor in the cost of the attorney; I can't for the life of me imagine why anyone would want to self-insure. Whatever you do, get something.

Josh,

Thank you for your input.
I agree. What would you recommend instead?

This kind of begs the question, why is your business licenses in WA if you are in MA?

If all you need is liability required for dealer plates and aren't wanting physical damage coverage on your vehicles, the premiums aren't normally THAT much. But you really ought to be licensed and plates issued in the state you're doing business in. Not like it's a situation of being near the border of a neighboring state, either.