Claim Help for Total Loss

Lightpost

Hey Guys Long time lurker but now needing to get some help. I am a 15 year agent with a disgruntled client. The client had a total loss on his vehicle due to fire. The carrier made a first offer...client rejected ( I agree the carrier missed some things) Carrier made another offer & client disagreed. The customer at this time asked if I would talk to the carrier for him. I got the carrier up another 1250 by pointing out the clients relationship with carrier, his " book value" that he obtained & sent in, other factors, etc, etc, etc.... I informed the client of the carriers new settlement offer & he rejected it Vehemently! I know that sometimes the client are unhappy with the settlement offers but Geeeez . I am trying to figure out another approach to the carrier to see if I can get them to "sweeten" the offer now. The offer on the table now is a just offer in MY opinion & now I am just trying to get the client to either see that ( not Likely ) OR try something else to get the settlement offer higher. Any ideas ? any ideas of how to get a higher offer? I hate to lose a client over this. Thanks !

Ask your client what $$$ he/she wants and to write/tell the justification for that price point. You may get addition insight into their thoughts or if they can't make a case for a larger number, they may come to realize that the last offer they received may be a fair deal in deed.

At some point, clients think they can ask for more money and in fact, you have shown this is exactly what he can do. Everytime he has asked, he has gotten more. I would ask (demand) more as well.

Problem is, at some point, you top out. You are probably there. Pull some listings in the area for the car, is it really undervalued? Try to get sold values, not the sky high ones some people ask for that they never get. Do they line up at all? You have to make adjustments for various factors, but you'll know if its reasonable.