Claim Question

Hefe

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Being a producer, I don't see too much of what happens on my clients' claims. The only time my clients need me is when an adjuster isn't calling them back and that only takes a quick call to a supervisor to resolve. I've got a situation now that I could use some help on.

My insured was in a parking lot, not moving, waiting for a parking space. Another vehicle (not the one she was waiting for) backed out and hit her.

My insured turned in her claim to her carrier and the other party turned in their claim.

My insured got an estimate at $1050. Her adjuster spoke with the body shop and revised the estimate to $450. Her deductible is $500. Since the adjuster's estimate is under $500, the adjuster has essentially stopped working on the claim because they aren't going to pay anything out. I have advised my insured to go to the body shop with the $450 estimate and ask for that repair. She would like the other party's company to pay the body shop directly.

The problem is that the other party's company determined liability to be 50/50 and isn't paying. My carrier determined liability to be 100% the other party's fault.

One of my biggest issues is that my insured's adjuster has abandoned her, basically telling her to deal only with the other party's adjuster. When we talk about claims service, doesn't that include dealing with the other adjuster and making sure liability is determined correctly?

I am also confused as to how the other party's adjuster determined fault at 50/50. I'm assuming my insured can dispute this, is this correct?

Shouldn't your company subrogate against the other company for her deductible?

That's what I thought would happen. They said that the typical claim involves the insured paying their deductible to get the car repaired. The company subrogates the full amount and refunds the deductible after fault is determined and payment is made by the other company.