Florida Auto Question

FLagent1991

Hello, I'm a pre-licensed agent who has finished taking the 220 General Lines Insurance course. I am taking my state exam next week, and I've had some issues with the auto portion of my review.

I'm taking a practice test and I've run into a question that has stumped me. I'm sure it's not very difficult, but I'm still unable to find the answer. Here's the question:

Joe has a Personal Auto Policy with Liability of 25/50/25. He hits a car with four (4) occupants from Minnesota, all of whom are hurt. They all sue. The first sues for $20,000; the second sues for $35,000; the third sues for $22,000; the fourth sues for $18,000. The car Joe hit has $8,000 in damage. The company spends $20,000 on a law firm for defense. Ignoring any PIP or Med Pay, what is the total cost to the company for Joe's claim?

a. $50,000

b. $70,000

c. $78,000

d. $90,000

The correct answer is C. $78,000, but I have no idea how to get to that number. Please help!

that's some tricky wording there..... don't let the language fool you.

the claim amount paid would be $58,000 ($50,000 bodily injury + $8000 property damage), but they aren't asking how much the claim was. they asked the total cost to the company. Legal fees are on the company's dime, but it is not considered part of the claim itself.

EDIT:

I finally figured this out. His split limits were what kept confusing me.

The 1st person to sue will get 20k
The 2nd person to sue will get 25k, instead of 30, because per person is capped at 25k (refer to limits: 25/50/25)
The 3rd person to sue will only get 5k; this is all that's left of the 50k for BI per accident (refer to limits: 25/50/25

This brings us to a 50k cost for BI for this accident. The 8k is taken out of his property damage limits (refer to limits: 25/50/25)

This brings us to 58k total. All that remains to get the answer is to add the 20k cost the company incurred for law firm defense.

50k BI + 8k PD + 20k legal fees = 78k.