Going Through a MGA for a New P/C Agent in Order to Get Appointments

I'm a new P/C agent and have started my own agency. E/O is good to go...looking for getting some appointments. I was told to go through a managing general agent so I can get some decent appointments. If this is a good way to go, who are some that I should go through for CA? All feedback is appreciated...thank you!

I'm a new P/C agent and have started my own agency. E/O is good to go...looking for getting some appointments. I was told to go through a managing general agent so I can get some decent appointments. If this is a good way to go, who are some that I should go through for CA? All feedback is appreciated...thank you!

MGA is usually a term for life or health products, I think you need a cluster. I'm sure DJS can help shed some light on California P&c processes though.

MGA is usually a term for life or health products, I think you need a cluster. I'm sure DJS can help shed some light on California P&c processes though.

Thank you! What does DJS stand for? Any web links in regards to 'cluster' that I can read into? I do not know what is a cluster...

Im going to assume you are going for auto only because you posted this in the auto insurance forum.

I cant help you with mga's or clusters but I know there are plenty of companies that will appoint agents with no book. What I did is get appointed through a few of these companies so I was competitive enough to place any deal and built my book. Then you can contact bigger companies once you have a big enough book or a stable marketing plan. It's really not that hard in California. I'm Los Angeles area and I did just fine.

I recommend contacting the marketing departments of these companies but there are no guarantees.

Access
Anchor General
CenCal
Clearside
Infinity** You will need a book to get this one but its one of the top non-standard auto carriers in California.