Hit in the Rear. Options ?

BobbyA

Rear Ended. please help !!!!!

Hello Everyone (Indianapolis, Indiana)

I am a independent contractor, courier and today I decided to use my backup car, 2007 Kia Rio5 (269,000) miles. It does run good, well it used too.

This morning,After I made a delivery I pulled out onto a main Street(86th St) and as I'm driving along out of nowhere this 2004 grandam Rams me really hard in the rear.

This kid hit me so hard, he pushed me at least 15 yards or so down the highway. I am really sore. Both cars are driveable.

After I pull into a parking lot, the kid jumps out and says I thought you was going to move over . I immediately called my agent, and progressive. I filed the claim while I was on phone in front of this guy.

We swapped all info, he was in his girlfriends car and his girlfriends brother is who has insurance on the grand am. Also the other party has progressive also, so we both are insured through progressive. I didn't call police. I prob should have.

I've talked to progressive claims Dept several times today . I only have liability on my back up car and a claims rep said a claim would have to be started through the other partys policy.

My car really isn't worth much, but it does have significant damage in the rear. My hatchback won't latch and my gas tank has a small leak.

A few questions
1.What kind of timeframe am I looking at to get this resolved?
2.Any chance the adjuster will just write it off as a total loss ? My car will need New Rear Bumper Rear panels, New hatchback, new gas tank,New muffler.
3. Will I have the choice of getting car repaired or just taking the money ? I would rather just get another vehicle.

----------

Can someone please help me with this

Last edited: