Personal Lines for Home/auto

dahonored1

Expert
Being a new independent agent, I feel like it's really difficult to get appointments for personal lines carriers. Anyone else having a hard time as well?

Being a new independent agent, I feel like it's really difficult to get appointments for personal lines carriers. Anyone else having a hard time as well?

This is one of the biggest challenges facing new (even seasoned) agents. P&C carriers are pretty picky with who they appoint and in parts of the country, have agent saturation and are very limited with how many new agents they will appoint.

Your choices tend to be:
- Start with the carriers you can get, usually Progressive and some non-standard carriers and grow as you can.
- Join a cluster / group / whatever. They can usually get you the appointments, but its a trade off for a fee / split commission, but you can write business.
- Use companies like Superior Access / Insurance Noodle to place business you don't have a home for otherwise.
- Buy an agency that has the appointments already and make sure you can keep the appointments.

None of these are overwhelmingly great, though joining a cluster can be a decent deal if you find one that works for you. There are advantages to cluster arrangements, such as reduced gross written premium requirements, potentially better profit sharing, etc.

Dan