What Are You Looking for the Most?

terickson5

Hi there,

I am currently an independent insurance agent selling auto and home; I am also doing a PR project for my Master's.

What is the buyer looking for the most in a car insurance company?

Price? Savings? Coverage? Benefits? Financial Stability?

Well, if you sell it, then you probably know the answer......

Its not a one size fits all and in most cases, its a balance.

The way I see it is:

Price: 25%
Savings: not sure what you mean, this is same as price
Coverage: 20%
Benefits: 10% I assume you mean towing, rental car coverage, etc
Financial stability: 15% I would equate this to more brand awareness though.
Sales/Support process: 15% (most people put these together on insurance and they want to work the way they want to work, either online or in person)
Claims handling: 15% This is higher for people who have had a recent claim, lower if they never had a claim.

Now, your thesis can be explaining how to tweak these levers within the sales process and recognize what is important to any particular prospect, because, like snowflakes, they are all different. Heck, even the husband and wife usually have different 'percentages' inside of their concerns.

Then realize that in the P&C world, at every contact with the client, it is knowing these levers, what is important to the client and keeping it sold.

Dan

Speaking for myself ...

Price: 30%
Coverage: 10%
Benefits: 10%
Stability: 5%
Support: 20%
Claims: 25%

I am 62. My wife and I each have a car. Most of our driving is in Maine, but we do put a lot of miles on in Maine, plus an occasional trip outside of Maine, but usually in New England.

I currently run a collision repair facility, and I can tell you this: