My FREE Annual Check-up for $1,347.36

Logan5

Dear folks,

I would like to share the story of free annual check-up that would end up costing me $1,347.36.

Since I am a legal alien, I have very little knowledge about how the American health care system works and I would kindly seek your advice on how to proceed farther. It is worth noting that I am insured under my wife's health plan. I do not contribute to it financially, I am a pure beneficiary.

On June 30th, I went to my in-network primary physician for my annual check-up which my health care provider Aetna said they would cover 100%. Part of the annual check-up is a routine chest x-ray, as well.

Let's begin with the x-ray. I told my doctor about this circumstance but he said that he has never heard of a routine chest x-ray, and, in order to get the x-ray done, I would need a condition that justifies the examination. He went on and filed the x-ray under the appropriate code (dry coughing) which would end up costing me $275.19 after insurance. After explaining to him that this is not at all what I wanted or expected, he said he would not know how else to claim it and Aetna would not disclose to him which other code he should use. Luckily, I could convince Aetna to reverse the claim and file it under the same code as the annual check-up. Hopefully i will receive notice about the reversed claim in the next couple of days. So far, so good. I hope you got a first look at my doctor.