CFP Certification

BrendanF

Expert
Quick background, I am a independent broker work for an agency here in Utah. I love it! So far I am only licensed in Property and Casualty! I am looking at getting my life/health license soon.

I have really been looking in to getting my CFP certification. Question is, where I am at in the agency all we focus on is home and auto. Who are good carriers to write 401ks, IRA's etc.. with?

I guess the real question is, if I did become a Certified Financial Planner, who would I want to become appointed with. Thanks!

As far as I know we just have the normal carriers most independent agencies have, Safeco, Sublimity, Hartford, Kemper, progressive, ect..

Any help/input/hate is appreciated. (:

Some more research is definitely in order.

I suggest you look into the Series 6, 7 63, and 65/66. You will need some combination of these licenses in order to handle investments. Either a 6 and 63 and 65 or a 7 and 66.

Also, for investments, your main point of contact will not necessarily be the company, but your broker/dealer (think cluster). And you are required to have a B/D, no way around it. Also, the B/D will basically gain complete access to your life, both in examining it and controlling it.

You could go the RIA only route, but that would put some limitations on the transactions you could handle.

Some more research is definitely in order.

I suggest you look into the Series 6, 7 63, and 65/66. You will need some combination of these licenses in order to handle investments. Either a 6 and 63 and 65 or a 7 and 66.

Also, for investments, your main point of contact will not necessarily be the company, but your broker/dealer (think cluster). And you are required to have a B/D, no way around it. Also, the B/D will basically gain complete access to your life, both in examining it and controlling it.

You could go the RIA only route, but that would put some limitations on the transactions you could handle.

Spot on.