Business Advice - Health Insurance Broker

njbenefits

Hi guys,

I just found this site and so glad I did. I found tons of useful info already!

I am looking for advice on my business. Currently, I am an independent health insurance broker here in NJ. I sell health insurance primarily to small businesses and do pretty. In the past, I always worked for the larger brokerages but about 3 years ago I decided to go out on my own. My book of business is growing and I make good money but not anything close to when I worked for the big houses. Most of that is do to the fact that I do all my own servicing and also because I get 100% of the commissions. :)

Recently, I was offered an opportunity to sell through a very large broker as a 1099 and they provide all the co-branded marketing material, quoting, customer service etc.. all I do is sell and renew. They basically become my back room. The main reason I would do this is that I have an instant service team and could just focus on selling. Also, because of their size, I could go after much larger accounts with no concerns about quoting and/or servicing them. In fact, the brokerage does more than I ever would in terms of service, including online systems, cobra etc... And their proposals look awesome.

It all comes at a cost of 50% of the commissions. I mean that's huge! But, I would be selling much larger accounts so 50% of 100 lives is more than 100% of 20... and I don't have to service them throughout the year.

Here is my main concern...

I'm a 1099 and I can move my clients any time I want but would they let me without a fight? (they say No.. my business is my business and I can move it anytime I want) (nothing in writing saying they can't go after my business if I leave)

Here are my positives...