Group Question

Golddoor

Guru
100+ Post Club
Texico
I had some one call me and request a group quote for his business. He has 120 employees but does not want to contribute for any of the employees insurance at all, nor does he have enough that want to participate, because they are already on a spouses plan, so group is not an option. I recommended individual policies or even HSA's and he could even possibly contribute to the HSA account. He said no way, they were not going out give any insurance benefits. He just wants to be able to offer it? I have had a lot of business owners wanting to offer it, but not pay for any of it. What do you say in that situation?

I have limited experience in the group market with only a few 2 person groups on the books but if I remember correctly employees with "credible coverage" can be waived from the requirements and some plans allow a "flat" contribution from the employer (like $50 or $100) might be different from state to state. Don't know if that helps but good luck...that's a lot of employees! Have him do a census and go from there.

Allowing for variances in state rules, there are some issues here.

First, as Mojo points out, any employee declining group coverage in favor or Medicare, Medicaid or another group health plan is deemed to be a valid waiver and does not count towards the minimum participation rules. I actually have 1-person groups in CA as the spouse is waived for Medicare. Here you just need the two employees, but not necessarily for both to have to enroll. So recheck the participation numbers on that group and I bet you will find the vast majority of waivers will not count against the participation rule and the group will fly.

I know in CA employer must make contribution to the group coverage. I assume same in your state although, again, that may vary but with 120 EEs it definitely falls under federal group rules and it seems likely that there are universal contribution requirements.