New Broker at an Independent Agency

Madden9

Hello all,
I have been working at an independent agency for about 6 months. I started at the agency right after graduating college. The agency's business is 90% group health, with the remainder being individual life, health and Medicare. There are 6 employees working at the agency, with one other broker besides myself. For a majority of the past 6 months I have been getting mentored and trained by the broker/owner of the agency. He has been very helpful with gearing me towards producing for his agency in regards to employee benefits growth. I have sat in with him on several renewals, proposals, etc. For the past month I have been driving around local cities dropping off brochures, getting the decison-maker's card, and following up with them. Is there anything else that I should be doing to generate business? I have a very fortunate situation and I want to make sure I make the most out of it. Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Being very new in the business you should cold call and look at some networking groups.

I started in the business 13 years ago in a very similar situation as you. Here is the reality on the group side. Most seasoned business owners are not going to buy from you because of your age. You will need to get very creative on why they should buy from you. Being young you might want to look at the technology angle.

While you are prospecting you need to look at selling individual health. There is no money in this market anymore but closing something is better than nothing.

Good luck