Offering an HMO required by law?

Nwit

Expert
Hi....

I am studying for a Florida license. My wife changed jobs 7 months ago and was able to join their group health plan 2 months ago.

The premium for the two of us is $1,100 monthly. It is a PPO through Blue Cross Blue Shield. We have been on an HMO for years and were very satisfied.

I had a triple bi-pass 5 years ago and OOP was around $1,000.

I asked her about an HMO option and she said there was no HMO option. I was surprised!

So this morning while studying my manual and I come across this:

"The Health Maintenance Act of 1973, which provided some federal funding for these organizations, spurred the HMO movement forward. On of its provisions requires employers with 25 or more employees to offer enrollment in an HMO if they provide health care benefits for their workers."

So, my questions are:

1. Is this still true?

2. Is there some loophole that would allow the employer to NOT offer an HMO option?

3. What can/should she do about it?

I am believe that the premium would be lower. Is that a correct assumption?

Thanks,

In 1995 they changed that act so employers did not have to offer the HMO for groups over 25.

No, it isn't. The HMO option would be more expensive than the PPO option.

Not here in Georgia. EVERY group quote I've ever run and enrolled the HMO was ALWAYS (and still is) cheaper.

As for the OP's original question, here in Georgia you are required to offer both options with the group (I onl deal in small group so I'm not sure about group sizes of 25 or more). That simply means the employee has a choice to enroll in the HMO or PPO plan. I can't speak for Florida.

Not here in Georgia. EVERY group quote I've ever run and enrolled the HMO was ALWAYS (and still is) cheaper.