Rate My First Day

GoForBroker

Expert
I am brand new in the business and trying to learn, made 60 calls set 1 appointment, this is for group. I am using Ref USA for my lists. My goal is 2 appointments per 60 calls per day. Is this a good goal or should I aim higher. Right now I only have 3-5 hours a day to prospect. It took about 1.5 hours to make the 60 calls. Did one hour of b2b for individual term as well. I want the individual term to become my bill payer and the group to be money straight into savings. Am I on the right track? It seems cold calling can work with massive numbers dialed but I prefer b2b. My goal at this point is sign 2-3 10 person or more groups a month and sell 7-15 individual term life's. Keep in mind this is a part time basis for now. 6 months from now I hope to go full time and double these figures.

Thanks!

Re: Rate My First Day.

Good day! Do what you did today, every day, and you'll be rich. Seriously. The tough part will be riding out the short term cash flow issue, if you can do that and keep your activity consistent, you'll be in a nice spot in 3 to 5 years (assuming small group renewals stick around).

You asked about activity numbers, more is better (obviously). But if you make 60 dials per day and spend 1 hour B2B, you will be okay. For quick reference, my numbers for small group were 1 new client for every 5 census's gathered. I was never able to beat that ratio over the long term. Using those numbers, one new appointment per day, equals one new group per week which puts you right where you want to be. If you can schedule two meetings per day, you'll get there faster.

Remember, keep track of x-dates. Get a box with monthly tabs and index cards, and write down each group you call that says you can call back before their (month) renewal. That will be a very profitable list for you as time goes on.

Good luck!