Single Vs. Family Coverage

sfmerv

i'm new to this. have had this question - 2 employees, same titles, same employee class, same salary doing the same type of work, having equal experience and time on the job.

one is single, the other is married with 2 kids. the company decided to pay 75% of health insurance coverage for all employees. obvious, the married person's insurance will cost the company more, therefore he is getting a higher monetary benefit than the single person.

is this legal, could this be consider wage discrimination? what normally happens in this case? shouldn't the family person pay more of his family's coverage?

the company decided to pay 75% of health insurance coverage for all employees.

are you sure it is not 75% of emp only.........that is what usually is the case....kinda rare these days that the company also pays a portion of family coverage......

i'm new to this. have had this question - 2 employees, same titles, same employee class, same salary doing the same type of work, having equal experience and time on the job.

one is single, the other is married with 2 kids. the company decided to pay 75% of health insurance coverage for all employees. obvious, the married person's insurance will cost the company more, therefore he is getting a higher monetary benefit than the single person.

is this legal, could this be consider wage discrimination? what normally happens in this case? shouldn't the family person pay more of his family's coverage?