Advice on Buying a Car

davisgroup

Expert
As a FE newbie, I am noticing how quickly I am racking up the milage on my 13 yr old car. I am close to trading it in for a new ride. For tax purposes, is leasing ever a good option or is it always better to buy and deduct milage? Thanks.

In my opinion. This is a great question, and it can help you save money. IMO buy a foreign car because of its longevity, and it can really pay off for you from a deduction stand point. IF you buy a toyota corolla, maybe a turbo diesel like a jetta, or a honda accord. These cars are on the record exceeding 250,000 total miles, usually 300,000 total miles if you take descent care of it.

If these are all work miles, which they should be. this should be your "work car". 300,000 miles at $.55 per mile is $165,000 worth of deduction. Assuming a 15% tax rate this is nearly $25000 is tax liability saved.

also, you will probably far exceed the per year miles that the leasing agreement is wanting you to try to stay within. Leasing is for commuters. People who drive 20 miles a day, things like that.

I personally drive a corolla. and i buy.

Last edited:
Toyota or Honda, 2-4 years old, 25-80k on the odo, drive it until it blows up. I have two vehicals, a Rav 4 with just shy of 300k and a Tacoma with just shy of 200k. Drive em both like I want to. Paid off and still running.

In this biz, your car is only important in getting you to the money. As long as it is not butt ugly and smoking... drive it until it stops.

13 year old car here - I'll replace it when it blows up. Cannot stand car payments.

That said, always buy. 95% of leases when I sold BMW's was companies for their employees.

If you want a new car but want max savings, ask for one model year old but new. So ask for a year 2012 - most lots will be all but giving them away. If you want bigger savings than that, buy a 2012 used. Chances are it'll still have a decent warranty left regarding mileage and someone else took the depreciation hit.