Objection: What Happens to my Parent's Unsecured Debts After They Die?

Birdman300

Guru
100+ Post Club
I'm new to FE. I met with a client who's son was with her in the appointment (he lives with her...age 52). The son kept asking questions about his mother's debts and how those would be paid (unsecured loans, Credit cards, etc.). I understand that with a mortgage loan (secured debt), the lender doesn't really care when someone dies...as long as that payment keeps coming in they're happy. I really don't have enough knowledge to know what happens to someone's unsecured debts after they die, and I didn't have an educated answer for the son.

Honestly, I don't even want to deal with this in an appointment...I want to keep my presentation focused on my client...not her son. In this case I politely recommended he speak to an attorney. HOWEVER, I knew this was a major concern with the son because he thought he was going to get stuck paying her debts when she's gone. I could tell this was her "Why" so I focused on that and I ended up selling a fairly decent policy $100/mo for $13k FE policy and they want me to check back in 6 months to increase the death benefit even more.

Do you veterans to FE run into this often? If so, what do you tell them?

I'm new to FE. I met with a client who's son was with her in the appointment (he lives with her...age 52). The son kept asking questions about his mother's debts and how those would be paid (unsecured loans, Credit cards, etc.). I understand that with a mortgage loan (secured debt), the lender doesn't really care when someone dies...as long as that payment keeps coming in they're happy. I really don't have enough knowledge to know what happens to someone's unsecured debts after they die, and I didn't have an educated answer for the son.