Starting With Securus

BenS

Guru
100+ Post Club
Arizona
Hi everybody. I've been digging through these threads for months and the information I have gathered has been priceless. Thank you for all the informative posts. I thought the best way to start participating in the forum would be to give an account of my experiences as I begin a career in Final Expense...

After careful consideration, I recently decided to team up with Securus FE. The area that I am in gets a very low mailer response, so the thought of signing up with a higher commision IMO and doing my own mailers seemed a little scary. I'm completely new to the insurance business and signing on with a large IMO that can provide leads seemed like the safest/best option. I also spoke with EFES, and while both companies seemed similar, Securus offered a higher comm rate, so I went with them. I'm sure this isn't always the case, but in my area, that is what was offered by the managers. And, in all fairness, I didn't even try to get a higher rate with EFES. I suppose if I asked them to match the Securus offer, they may have.

Up Front Costs:
I think this has been discussed on the forums, but anybody that is looking into this line of work should have plenty of savings. Securus asked for a commitment of 80 leads at $21/each to get started. This seems reasonable considering they need to start a mailing campaign on my behalf. Keep in mind that it takes at least a few weeks for the leads to start coming back. (As of right now it has been about 12 days, and $840 in lead costs and I still have not gotten a lead) This is fine for me as I am still in the process of selling my current business and am a few weeks away from being able to sell FE full time. However, prospective agents that don't have any savings should really think about saving at least 3-4k when they start the process. This will allow you to buy your leads and still have a small cushion while you begin selling.

Training: