Advice on Independent/cluster/MGA Options

neb1970

Expert
Hi everyone:

Looking for some advice on which direction might be the best for my situation. I'm an eight year captive agent and looking to make a change to owning my own book. I've looked at the models for several cluster groups (Global Green, Iriquois, Smart Choice, etc) and seem to be more confused than when I started.

Ideally I want to own 100% of my own book and be my own boss, but I don't think I can get solid appointments in the industry (or could I?) by not joining a cluster. I need to hit the ground running because after eight years as a captive, I've got to consistently making 150+ a year and while I understand it may take 1-2 years to get back to that level, I need to try and get back to there as quick as possible. My plan is to come out the first few months and sell a solid amount of P&C from my sources, but hit life insurance big premiums heavy the first few months to bring in more revenue early since my understanding is that those contracts are 75%+ of the premium?

I want access to the best providers (Safeco, Travelers, Met Life, etc) in Texas, and I'm afraid if I go 100% solo that it'll be the groups like progressive, kemper, foremost that I'll be using for the first few years. I also worry about finding a solid AMS, as I plan on eventually bringing 1-2 other producers with me after the first 3-9 months.

Has anyone made a similar switch and had to consider the same options? Would love to hear your thoughts on pros/cons. Anyone have any recommendations or point me in a good direction?

Thanks.

Neb

Lots of options available. I went with a smaller group that operates only in the midwest as it was the best fit for me. Low buy in, good list of carriers, no buy out, etc

What state are you in?