Am I In Over My Head?

VirginAgent

Hi Everyone,

Just wanted to start off by saying Happy Thanksgiving!

I recently met a State Farm recruiter at a friend's BBQ a few weeks ago. To keep it short, he was telling me about an agent that is about to retire in a few months and he can GIVE me his books of business. The retiring agent has about $4 Million, but he said he's only allowed to give me around $1.2-$1.3. I have no experience or knowledge of insurance sales. I currently own a small business selling satellite tv. He told me it was similar when you break the business down to its common denominator, basically, market/advertise and find/retain customer, same concept. I make around $120k/annually. Basically what I'm trying to ask is, what kind of challenge lies ahead of me? Is it feasible to make more than I currently make in the near future? And lastly, is there anything that I should know in advance before taking on this challenge?

Any feedback will be helpful.
Thanks in advance!

Hi Everyone,

Just wanted to start off by saying Happy Thanksgiving!

I recently met a State Farm recruiter at a friend's BBQ a few weeks ago. To keep it short, he was telling me about an agent that is about to retire in a few months and he can GIVE me his books of business. The retiring agent has about $4 Million, but he said he's only allowed to give me around $1.2-$1.3. I have no experience or knowledge of insurance sales. I currently own a small business selling satellite tv. He told me it was similar when you break the business down to its common denominator, basically, market/advertise and find/retain customer, same concept. I make around $120k/annually. Basically what I'm trying to ask is, what kind of challenge lies ahead of me? Is it feasible to make more than I currently make in the near future? And lastly, is there anything that I should know in advance before taking on this challenge?

Any feedback will be helpful.
Thanks in advance!