Captive Agent and Contract Issues

joeycap

I am a "captive" agent. Yet, I am 1099'd, lease my computer, pay for my own marketing expenses, & my E&O which are all deducted from my commission. In addition, my contract indicates that it "shall not be construed to create the relationship of employer and employee" between said parties. I am not on a draw and receiving no leads. Yet I am been given a hard time from my "superiors" regarding production and have been threatened to terminate my contract if I don't pick it up. Here is my question...what do they care if I am not producing up to their expectations if I am not an employee and an "independent contractor"? Could I produce more...probably, but it would jeopardize the relationships I have established i.e family and friends. Am I wrong?

Re: Captive Agent and Contract Issues.

I was a manager at a captive company, and yes, we would terminate underperforming agents. Quite frequently actually. One reason is we were providing leads to the agents, and if you weren't going to sell them, then we didn't need you. The big reason was that we wanted to build a culture of success in the office. If there were a couple agents doing nothing then it seemed to pull the whole office down. Other decent agents we were trying to motivate and get producing at a higher level would complain we were being too hard on them and letting some other agent slide. Bottom line, if you don't like working the way they want you to, find a job you'd be happy with. You'll lose the 1099 arguement every time. Quit whining and start working, or just quit and go independent and starve because you still won't want to work. And don't reply saying their not providing anything, because, if that's true, then, why would you be there anyways.