Captive Agent to Independent Broker

health330

This is my first time on here and I am pretty new into the business. I have been working as a captive agent for the past 4 months. I've been looking into transitioning into an independent broker and am looking at AIO, Stevens Matthews and HealthChoice One. Does anyone out there have any advice as to which would be a better path to choose? I need to make sure I make the right move this time.....any help is greatly appreciated!!

HCO seems great if you require support, or you can always go direct if you dont need any training or support or anything. pm me and we can chat

Really depends on your mindset. I found a non-captive agency to go with. It nice to have management to keep you motivated and bounce ideas off of. I started out on my own though. Felt like I was reinventing the wheel. I can pick up other carriers as needed.
I wasn't getting much support on the independent broker side with my direct contracts. Think I was supposed to actually produce sales to get support.

Thanks DJM, I sent you an email however I am not sure if it went through. I can not send PM till I hit 20 posts. I am currently in the process of contracting with AIO this week, however two other senior agents have recommended HCO, but not really going into much detail as to why they are better. I was fooled into believing that MEGA was the best thing since sliced bread and do not want to make a similiar mistake. Any advice is greatly appreciated, I am sure everyone can remember their frustrations when they first started.

just to give out some new information i came across....AIO hold you to a two year "non compete" if you leave. meaning you lose your book of business and can not contact anyone who is or used to be an AIO customer. Also you need a written release from them and can not sell Golden Rule for 6 months after you leave...and if thats one of your top providers you just shot yourself in the foot.