Closing Rates Captive Vs Independent

DSInsurance

Expert
Hello everyone I am a personal lines agent only,

My question is I know rate increases are part of the business. I am a captive agent only been around 3 years now and we have always been a bit more expensive than the competition. My closing rates have really dipped lately, and now a new rate increase is on the horizon with my company. With it getting harder and harder to hit my personal goals, and soon what my company expects of me. Is it better to start looking into the independent side of things, so I can shop the rate around?

What is a P & C Independent agents closing rate? Thanks for any help, I have just been frustrated with being 100+ dollars more annually on a lot of my quotes. I like the support from a captive agency, but the frustration of coming in so much more expensive is really starting to get to me. Thank you for any advice.

There is no standard closing rate for independents or captives. The more aggressive you are and the harder you try... the lower the closing rate will be. If you sit back and just work referrals and very warm leads then your closing rate will be high... but your overall numbers won't be very impressive. It is kind of like a skier that never falls... it is because they never push themselves. If your area is very price sensitive and $100 is a deciding factor... I suspect you would want to be a independent agent. In wealthy areas where a few hundred dollars are not a big deal, it is nice to be representing a household name with a several hundred million dollar advertising budget.

I think a lot of agents run into problems in year 3. I know I did. I think the mental attitude changes and the office changes due to a lot more service work going on.

Step back for a second and really wonder if you are doing the same thing before you blame the carrier. It's likely to be a bit of both, you and the carrier.