Combo: Captive Agent Who Also Uses Wholesaler

moneymaker1

Expert
Hi, All:

I am a captive agent (prefer not to say for who but for example, State Farm, Nationwide, Farmers, Allstate), anyway, as you know, captive agents get subsidy from their company for the first couple of years to pay for rent, staff, leads, etc., which is part of the allure. Being independent means you foot the ALL of those costs yourself.

However, as you also probably know, you're pretty much locked out of the re-marketing game and if you take a substantial rate hike you have a high risk of losing your client. The other problem is that for new quotes, when your rates are simply too high, you more than likely don't win the business.

I have been kicking around a thought that if I play my cards right, just may work and help my overall agency retain business. I've been considering hiring another licensed agent to quote/write business for the prospects that I cannot help through a wholesaler. It would be a second stream of income for me and keep clients in my agency.

I have not looked at my contract yet so I am not sure if it forbids me to do that or not. Just wondering if anyone else out there has done this or not and if so, how has it worked out and what advice could you give me?

Thank you in advance.

You can try Superior Access, they don't directly appoint you and their name appears on the policy. I'd bet that your captive contract excludes you from placing business they can write elsewhere but it will be hard for them track.

SA told me State Farm and Nationwide agents use them all the time. I wish I would have known how easy it was when I was on the way out from my captive. I would have had a nice book already built up.

Only other thing I'll add is that most wholesalers don't have substandard carriers like Progressive that can be helpful for those high risk prospects.