Complimentary Gifts? Are We Allowed to or Not?

danieldyer707

Expert
I'm a new agent, well actually I started about two and a half months ago. But I am really having a hard time with prospecting. I noticed that on the lead generating through mail how it offers a free book, with the appointment, then why I can't offer something else free to get people's attention. I'm just trying to think outside the box here, so don't critize me for it. But I was wondering if I send my own mailers to prospects that don't ever answer their phones, or respond to door knocks, if I could send them a mailer that offers a free tarot card reading. But I'm not sure how the rules work with that. So some insight on the do's and don'ts would be great.
Danielle Gorbet

danieldyer707 said:
I'm a new agent, well actually I started about two and a half months ago. But I am really having a hard time with prospecting. I noticed that on the lead generating through mail how it offers a free book, with the appointment, then why I can't offer something else free to get people's attention. I'm just trying to think outside the box here, so don't critize me for it. But I was wondering if I send my own mailers to prospects that don't ever answer their phones, or respond to door knocks, if I could send them a mailer that offers a free tarot card reading. But I'm not sure how the rules work with that. So some insight on the do's and don'ts would be great.
Danielle Gorbet

You can offer anything you want as long as it is worth less than $10. But trust me on this one, you will get a lot of angry people by offering a tarot reading...