Conflict of Interest Question?

williamthomas

Any advice on this would be appreciated. I am an insurance agent and am currently in the process of trying to land a good size Commercial insurance account.

I have run into one obstacle that I am trying to navigate around. Here is the situation. The organization we are seeking to insure, the founder of that organization is the father of my business partner. Because of that some of the people on the board are stating that they need to get a quote from two other insurance agencies in order for there to not be a "conflict of interest".

Obviously, we have a competitive advantage because my business partner is the founders son and we are close friends with the organization. Yet, I do not see a problem because we will be quoting them to four or five different insurance companies who set the premiums and limits of coverage.

Having other insurance agencies quote along side of us just causes things to get messy. Once you quote thru one company you automatically lock the other agency out from getting a quote thru that company. The other insurance agency quotes thru the same companies.

I have talked to lawyers and they have said that there is no conlfict. I wanted to bounce this one off of you guys to see if you have any thoughts.

Thanks!

I would disagree with you on this. You probably do not have a conflict, but the other side might. To begin with, competition should not messy anything up. Secondly, look at it from the perspective of the board of directors...if in fact you do have the best to offer, it will come out in the presentation process. If they did not take this route and something went wrong, they would have opened themselves up to criticism, liability and who knows what else.

There is no professional "conflict of interest".