Is this Fair Producer Compensation?

InsFNG

Hi everyone! First post on the forums. I just obtained my P&C license and have been offered a position as a producer with a small independent agency. I was told I'd be provided with some leads from their website along with a few internet leads a day. I will also spend 5-6 days a month marketing to mortgage companies and at networking events.

The compensation being proposed looks like this:
  1. $24k base
  2. No commission on the first $8,000 in premium every month.
  3. 4% initial commission
  4. 3% on the next renewal
  5. No 2nd renewal commissions
  6. 5% profit sharing, up to $5,000.

Is this a fair deal if they are providing training, leads, and marketing?

I'm just new to the industry and don't want to accept a low ball offer.

TIA

Fair depends upon where you live and your local economy. At the same time you have no experience. If you haven't received other offers that are better this may be the best offer for you.

Apply for a couple more positions before you make a final decision.

Hi everyone! First post on the forums. I just obtained my P&C license and have been offered a position as a producer with a small independent agency. I was told I'd be provided with some leads from their website along with a few internet leads a day. I will also spend 5-6 days a month marketing to mortgage companies and at networking events.

The compensation being proposed looks like this:
  1. $24k base
  2. No commission on the first $8,000 in premium every month.
  3. 4% initial commission
  4. 3% on the next renewal
  5. No 2nd renewal commissions
  6. 5% profit sharing, up to $5,000.

Is this a fair deal if they are providing training, leads, and marketing?

I'm just new to the industry and don't want to accept a low ball offer.

TIA

I'd be interested to know what type of leads they are getting off their webpage. As the first response noted, it depends on your location and what YOU need to make to be able to pay YOUR bills.