First Year Commissions

jasinsc

Trying to get a handle on commission levels. My IMO is paying an average of 48% on most life insurance and 10% on Med Sup. I have read on this forum and others that higher commissions are paid by other IMOs. Am I getting a raw deal?

What are the names of the companies paying higher commissions? Is there a catch? .

I'm a newer agent and a bump in commission level would really help my family. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Jason

Trying to get a handle on commission levels. My IMO is paying an average of 48% on most life insurance and 10% on Med Sup. I have read on this forum and others that higher commissions are paid by other IMOs. Am I getting a raw deal? What are the names of the companies paying higher commissions? Is there a catch? . I'm a newer agent and a bump in commission level would really help my family. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Jason

It depends on the types of insurance AND what your upline is doing for you. If you are provided an office space and daily hands on development you will be paid less.

Just call a few IMOs and request their commission grids that they offer to new agents. Ours will show you the FE mainly along with a few term and WL companies. Compare the products you are actually selling evenly. Not term to FE or Med Sup to Obamacare, etc.

48% on life and 10% on Med Sup are very, very low. New agents start at more than double that at most agencies and still receive training and lead support. But not office space. I don't think office space is worth that much though.

Lesson: no new agent should ever sign up with anyone before receiving PRINTED (never verbal) commission grids from at least three IMOs. You would never have taken that offer if you researched first. But it's never too late to change.

You didn't mention which life companies you are working with, but 48% is very low.

Are they giving you leads, marketing support, etc?