Going with Northwestern Mutual Over MassMutual

MichiganJD

I am an attorney switching over to the financial services industry. I practiced law for 6.5 years and have always wanted to be in the financial services industry. Finally decided to pull the trigger and both NMFN and MassMutual appear to be very interested in bringing me on.

I kept reading about how MML is the way to go due to flexibility and better commissions etc but I have met with both firms over the past 10 days and have found that while both are amazing firms NMFN is just the better of the two (it could very well be the Agency Office that I am dealing with).

I didn't find a significant difference in the commission scheme; products are similar; no non-compete in the NMFN and the MassMutual contract that I have been asked to sign and both firms have a commission distribution formula if you leave said firm. So, I don't follow the numerous statements I have come across in these forums suggesting that MML is better than NMFN for the Agent. How is MML better?

I must say that I didn't find one firm to be substantially better than the other for a business minded Agent. I am leaning towards NMFN because they are the strongest firm in the business and I feel that their organization structure and internal dynamics are better...

I also noticed that, overall, at least in my area, NMFN has the smarter (more qualified) agents than the competition.

I decide on Friday. I welcome your thoughts and comments regarding why one firm is (or would be) better than the other for a career changer like me.

Thank you.

Last edited:
I am attorney switching over to the financial services industry. I practiced law for 6.5 years and have always wanted to be in the financial services industry. Finally decided to pull the trigger and both NMFN and MassMutual appear to be very interested in bringing me on.