Grad School Full Time...Insurance Part Time? Can It Be Done?

AB21

I’ve been an insurance agent for nearly three years here in Iowa. I started out with MA’s and most recently went captive and have been selling life and annuities…..no longer selling nor interested in the MA products. In two months I’ll be moving to Long Beach, CA to attend graduate school full time to study medicine. Unfortunately, I will need to find a part time job to generate around $3000 (NET) per month to cover my living expenses. I like the flexibility insurance provides but I know it does take time to prospect, phone call, and run appointments. I’m estimating I will have approximately 20 hours per week to devote to a part time job. Is there an insurance product I could realistically work part time and generate the monthly income I need? I am licensed in California.

I have a friend that put himself through college selling insurance. When he got out he opened his own agency. I would say maybe just sell life and annuities as you can do that in the evenings but you will have to work at it to get the return you are looking for.

I’ve been an insurance agent for nearly three years here in Iowa. I started out with MA’s and most recently went captive and have been selling life and annuities…..no longer selling nor interested in the MA products. In two months I’ll be moving to Long Beach, CA to attend graduate school full time to study medicine. Unfortunately, I will need to find a part time job to generate around $3000 (NET) per month to cover my living expenses. I like the flexibility insurance provides but I know it does take time to prospect, phone call, and run appointments. I’m estimating I will have approximately 20 hours per week to devote to a part time job. Is there an insurance product I could realistically work part time and generate the monthly income I need? I am licensed in California.