Health Insurance Sales Commission Question

plays2win

Expert
I'm a newly licensed agent. I got a call from the owner of a local insurance agency that I had sent my resume to and he said he was interested in speaking to me about a job. He said he sells health insurance for individuals and groups and I would be focusing on individuals at first and then possibly move into group sales.

He pays only straight commission and the commissions would be stretched out over a twelve month period. I would not be eligible for residuals on my sales. The questions I need answered are; Is this standard for a small health insurance agency to offer only straight commission with no residual and if I was to work for this guy and get no residual income what would a fair commission be?

Last edited:
Insurance Sales is not a job, it is a business.

At a "Sales Job" you usually a provided with"

Sales and Product Training (Or at least training on how they want you to sell)

Leads (Varies)

Someone to learn from or to "Monitor" if it's phone sales.

I would not get into this gig right now, unless you have $5-15k saved (cash).

He provides leads and it is inside sales. But back to my original question, "What is the commission percentage I should expect to earn in health insurance sales when the agency doesn't provide any residual commission?"

"What is the commission percentage I should expect to earn in health insurance sales when the agency doesn't provide any residual commission?"

Cause you will quit soon.

Honestly, what kind of leads, how many, what is you're fyc?

I'd avoid health insurance if you're just starting....better to get into life sales IMO. Commissions are too low on health now to make it worth your time and the wait for the commissions to come in.