Help, Starting As Producer for State Farm Agent

pesmay

I was just offered a position with a state farm agent in AZ with a base of 24k a year. What i am worried about are the production requirements. I would need to produce 20,000 - 30,000 in new P&C and 20 policies and would need to have a minimum of 4 life apps per month. I would receive up to 10% of the P&C commissions if i write 10 life apps a month. 4% if i write 4 apps and etc. etc. Is this reasonable? It is my first year in the industry. I dont want to take something and find out the expectations were not reasonable. Thanks for the help

Re: Please Help- Starting As Producer for State Farm Agent

I would think you can hit those goals if they let you work off their current customer base.
State Farm life insurance products are not even close to being priced competitively but if you are working loyal State Farm customers they usually won't shop you.

I think I'd run from this offer. How long is he willing to give you that salary if you're not meeting production requirements? Do you get any renewals from the P&C? What portion of the life commission do you get? How much is he going to be there for you when you have questions, need help? Where are your leads going to come from? How many other producers are in the office, how successful are they? How long has he been with State Farm, is he a TICA that is in danger of getting canned?

If you got a street life contract at 70% (which you can do better, but sounds like you need a lot of hand-holding).

4 life apps x $1,000 yearly premium = $2,800. More than his salary
10 life apps x $1,000 yearly premium = $7,000.

I suspect that if you write this guy 10 life apps and 20 P&C apps, you won't make 7k total. Now, I will say that the life apps you write with him will probably be for lower premium amounts. State Farm just wants apps, they don't care about the premium amount at all when it comes to life.