Independent Agent Business Card

DaveTheInsGuy

Expert
I am a newly independent agent, and am currently working on making my business card. i am using Vista Print, I have heard good things about them.

Few questions about what to put on it.:

I am trying to keep it simple, I have always believed in the KISS principle.

1) Do most independent agents create a name for their company to put on their card? ie: "Name insurance Group" or just put "Name insurance agent" on the top of the card?

2) address. i dont have an office, I just work out of my home. I feel that putting an address on the card helps create the appearance of professionalism. Is it a good idea to put my home/office address on the card?

Putting your home address on a business card is a bit frightening. What if you put your card in a fast food fish bowl - in the hopes to win a free taco - now all the fast food workers know where you live!

You could always get a PO box or executive suite in order to get a business address.

I have a DBA and regret using one. I we are down playing it on cards and stationary. My clients know my name not the DBA. So I would use my name

I have had an outside office and a home office. I always print a PO Box and an 800 # those have been constant for close to 20 years.

Home is fine. Don't over worry it.

If you don't have a name for your company (yes, you are a company) give it some thought. Unfortunately or fortunately for me, I had to decide on the spot the name of my business because I was setting up my telephones and they asked for a name. Hadn't thought of it till that point. Thus a name was born and I've used for the past 24 years.

I use my name. Ultimately, whether you're "The ABC Group" or "Integrated Blah Blah Blah Concepts" or "Billy Bob and Associates", it still comes down to you.

I closed my office a few years ago and use a UPS store for my mailing address. It's around $200 a year and I know my business mail and UPS / FedEx deliveries are taken care of.