Initial License in New Hampshire Denied Due to Background?

zkr500

Hi I am just getting started in the Insurance Field as an Agent. I am concerned however about my initial License in the State of New Hampshire because I had to answer 'yes' to one of the background questions - "have you ever been convicted of any crime?"

Since I answered yes, I had to send additional documentation of all my charges and disposition documents. I also had to submit a written explanation electronically. I am now extremely nervous that I will be denied only on the basis of my background.

I did note however in my explanation that all my crimes resulted from 'stupid reactions/choices' during hostile, stressful situations (i.e. fights) and that I have sinced changed and repayed my debt to society. And that I have further never been charged with a financial crime.

I have already been hired by a company, we are now only waiting on the license before I am appointed. My boss told me that they would probably not deny and that I don't have a reason to worry.

Am I ok and good to go? What is the likelihood that they would deny me the license only because of this criminal record?

I wouldn't sweat it too hard. Most managers have seen applications that could be far worse than yours. If he says, "Don't sweat it.", then don't. How long before you know what the state decides?

I wouldn't sweat it too hard. Most managers have seen applications that could be far worse than yours. If he says, "Don't sweat it.", then don't. How long before you know what the state decides?

I agree. I think you will be approved.

It's usually financial crimes, or extreme moral turpitude (i.e. pedophilia et al) that they will use as a basis for denying a license. I wouldn't worry...

Felonies and crimes of moral turpitude (lying, cheating, stealing, etc) are the ones they're going to be worked up about. You can always give them a call and ask what they think.