National Producer Number

The New Guy

Guru
100+ Post Club
Michigan
Just got asked if I had one of these, was told I needed one to get appointments?

First time I have heard of this. Where do you get these?

Thank you

The following is information from the website you posted. I'm not sure what they are talking about. I have been selling insurance for about 14 years and have not heard of this, nor do I have a "number".

It looks as though they want $75.00 plus $1.34 per report. Not sure what it is for or why you were told you "need one". Maybe it is needed it to sell "free life insurance". LOL

The Producer Database (PDB) is a central repository of producer licensing information updated on a timely basis by participating state insurance departments. The PDB includes data from external databases such as the Regulatory Information Retrieval System (RIRS) to provide a more comprehensive producer profile.

The following information is maintained in the PDB:
  • General demographic information relating to all producers, such as name and
    address(es)
  • License information, such as states licensed, license numbers, authorized lines and license status
  • Appointment information, such as company appointments, effective date, termination date and termination reason
  • Regulatory actions (if taken)
Currently, the PDB includes information from all 50 states, as well as the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. All licensing and appointment information is on one report, whether licensed in one state or all states. You can print out or download the reports.
There is a $75.00 annual fee (per password) to be an NIPR customer. A PDB detail report costs $1.34. These fees will be billed to you on your first monthly invoice.
To become an NIPR customer, please contact the NIPR Marketing Department at 816-783-8467 or [email protected].