Need a Little Input from Some Fellow Professionals

TylerP

Expert
Hey guys and gals,

I am a property and casualty agent located in Kansas City, MO. I've had my Independent Agency for a little over a year now (exactly a year as of October). I've had some success building my book of business but wouldn't define it as hitting it out of the park. It's definitely something that, given a lot of hard work and effort, could end up being a fine business in the next five years. With that being said, my post will shed some light on my current situation.

My father owns a trucking company (we have a freight brokerage, a fleet of about 20 trucks that we do LTL and TL local runs throughout the Midwest and we own warehouses throughout the metro with a combined floor space of about 500,000 sq ft) and we've had this business in our family for nearly 20 years. I will be 28 in the next few months and my dad recently battled cancer (successfully as of now; no traces of it thank god) and he now has really been pushing me to learn our business. My whole life, I have been unclear as to whether or not he wanted a legacy company but since I have graduated college, worked for State Farm for sometime and finally started my own Independent Agency, it seems my dad is now ready for me to work with him. I know he wanted me to "pay my dues", so to speak, and I have done that.

With all of that, do you think it would be foolish of me not to pursue a company that is already well established? I enjoy insurance but I don't enjoy it any more than I do logistics. The pride in me wants to establish my own business but the rational and more logical side says grow the business that's already well on its way.

I guess what I am asking is, what would you guys do if you were in a similar situation?

No right or wrong answers, obviously. I am just curious to how people would perceive the situation if they were in it themselves.

Hey guys and gals,