Need Some Advice from the Vets!

NorTex

I'm a new agent, just got my license and begin training soon. About 6 months ago I sold my business on a buy out agreement with me receivving monthly payments. Today I found out there is a strong probability the company is going to fold and declare BK and my monthly payments will stop. I have enough money to last me for 5-6 months before things get really tight. If I can't start generating a decent income before then I might be forced to file BK 7. So, my questions to the veteran's are;
1. After I get appointed with some carriers; how often do they your review credit history?
2. If I file for BK 7 will I lose my appointments I already got?
3. How will this effect my other appoitnments I want in the future?
4. Will this effect my commission structure on appointments I already got?

I appreciate all the wisdom from you Vets. I just don't want to get into this business, work my a$$ off, build a bob and decent income and then WHAM; my commissions are cut to a AE basis and I'm screwed with not enough income to pay my monthly bills. I have 2 young girls and a single dad and cant' afford to make a big mistake that could leave us in a bad situation. Thank you again!

I'm a new agent, just got my license and begin training soon. About 6 months ago I sold my business on a buy out agreement with me receivving monthly payments. Today I found out there is a strong probability the company is going to fold and declare BK and my monthly payments will stop.

You need to talk to a business attorney who is familiar with business bankruptcy as you might be able to file an "adversary action" in your debtor's bankruptcy that might get his debt to you declared non-dischargeable. Long shot but if there is a lot of money at stake you can't afford not to consider it even if it costs you some money for an attorney.

1. After I get appointed with some carriers; how often do they your review credit history?