New Agent Looking for Input on Career Path

FLagent00

Expert
Hey everyone. Long time lurker, first time poster. Looking forward to becoming active on this board. I am a younger (lower 20s) L&H and P&C licensed agent currently working for my fathers insurance agency. I have a degree in insurance as well as CPCU, AAI among others. Working with my fathers agency may not work out so I am planning ahead. My goal is to form my own independent agency focused on P&C.

Is it even possible to get contracts when I have no existing book of business? I am thinking I will have to go with another agency in the short term (a few years), build a book, then lose it all when I form my own agency. Otherwise, no carriers would be willing to give me any contracts. Any thoughts or advice? Thanks.

Nothing in particular, it's possible he may sell it but I want to sort of be prepared in case he does. If he doesn't, I'm pretty sure staying with it is the best route. Higher commissions, but very little training. It is a traditionally L&H agency and he is also fairly new to P&C so I am finding it tough to figure out the small details of quoting and whatnot.

I have known of arrangements when a broker would submit apps to carriers for you and let you retain ownership of the policy, however you will be getting much much less 1st yr commission and even less for renewals.

Then when you build the book this way you will be able to move/place it later on once you get some volume. These arrangements are hard because you typically need another source of income. If you want to retain ownership and don't have appointments you will have to sacrifice majority of the commission.

the broker would handle underwriting etc and servicing the account while you focus on initial meetings, relationship and gather u/w information. You get to start building a book slowly until you are ready and they get to hit volume/bonus requirements from carriers win win