New Agent Needing Advice

new_ky_ag

I am a new agent breaking into the field. I have agreed to work for a small independent broker that has started me off at a minimal hourly wage for training and licensure purposes. Now that I have gotten licensed and appointed through a few carriers, I am wanting to approach him to see about increasing my pay. He has paid everything thus far and pays for internet leads. I am starting to produce through those leads. I am needing a guaranteed pay for family purposes but want commission plus draw. We have briefly discussed this but he beats around the bush and wants to put it off until beginning of year, referencing what he has invested. What would be fair to approach him with and would I find anything that would offer draw plus commission elsewhere. Have been in sales for 10 years with medical devices and personal reasons set me on new career path. Just wanting to make sure family is taken care of and that is difficult at rate I am currently at. Any suggestions would be great.....

You either hash it out now, or when you have someone who wants to buy a huge life or annuity from you, just see what happens. I think we all know what happens. He takes 95% and you get your salary and he throws in a little bonus (the 5%) so he doesn't quite so much like a sack.

Hash it now, he will walk all over you if you don't. If he isn't willing to do what's right, then you are well rid of him.

you can get what you need in the Ins Industry by way of comp. My question is why leave Medical Supplies, I thought that was lucrative stuff.

Use your hunting inhibitions and get what you want. Hash it out now. The Guy Paid for A $100 license and a months Salary. He took gamble on you, He'll have to gamble to keep you.

Finding a Good producer and..... (Hard to do)

Keeping a good producer..... (Very Hard to do- But Shouldn't be)

The two hardest parts of the producer equation.

Last edited: